ASSP Foundation News – Central Indiana Chapter Scholarships

In memory of past president Jim Kriner, the Central Indiana Chapter routinely contributes to the ASSP Foundation to provide two scholarships for college students studying occupational/environmental, safety and health with Indiana universities (ISU, IU, Purdue). Through the ASSP Foundation, each year the Chapter awards a $3,000 scholarship and a $2,000.

The 2023 Central Indiana student member recipients are Hannah Dobler and Emmanuel Alvarez.

ASSP Foundation Scholarship, funded by ASSP Central Indiana Chapter, in memory of Jim Kriner, $3,000

Hannah Dobler
Indiana University Bloomington
Bachelor’s Degree Program: Occupational Safety

ASSP Foundation Scholarship, funded by ASSP Central Indiana Chapter, in memory of Jim Kriner, $2,000

Emmanuel Alvarez
Indiana University Bloomington
Bachelor’s Degree Program: Environmental Health and Safety

The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) Foundation is awarding $334,500 in academic scholarships and career development grants to 153 individuals to help them achieve their educational and career goals in the occupational safety and health profession.

“For over 30 years as ASSP’s charitable arm, the Foundation has helped thousands of students and professionals continue their education in workplace safety and health,” said ASSP Foundation Chair Trish Ennis, CSP, ARM, CRIS. “The consistent support from donors shows that safety and health careers are vital in helping to protect workers everywhere.”

The 2023 awards include $305,500 in academic scholarships for 107 graduate and undergraduate students preparing for or supplementing their occupational safety and health careers at 52 colleges and universities. The ASSP Foundation is awarding $29,000 in career development grants to 46 safety students and professionals who are working to advance their careers through certification, conference attendance and similar learning opportunities. Career development grants will continue to be awarded throughout the year.

For more information visit ASSP Foundation Awards $334,500 in Scholarships and Grants and ASSP Foundation | scholarship awards.

2023 – 2025 Chapter Officers

Finding and developing new leaders is vital to sustaining the CI-ASSP Chapter. Actively involved and passionate leaders enable ASSP chapters and sections to provide valuable programming to members. Thoughtful succession planning ensures that the CI-ASSP Chapter continues to thrive under excellent leadership. Please welcome the 2023-2025 officers to the Central Indiana ASSP Board of Directors. They will begin their 2-year term on July 1!

President: Mark Frye, CSP, CHMM

President Elect: Karl Weiser, CSP, ARM, CHST

Vice President: Daniel Brewer, M.S., CHST, GSP

Secretary: Jeff Fox, CSP, CIT

Treasurer: Vince Plank, CSP

Past President: Greg Anderson, MS

Future Leaders Golf Outing Scholarship Recipients

Proceeds from the 2022 Future Leaders Golf Outing provided six $2,000 scholarships to Central Indiana Chapter Student Members. The recipients attended the 2023 Indiana Safety Conference and were awarded the scholarships at the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards luncheon. Congratulations to our recipients!

Andrew Brownfield – Indiana State University
Kenny Burnell – Purdue University
Evan Grinder – Indiana University
Aylin Minjares Lemus – Indiana University
Josh Reiter – Indiana University
Abbi Williams – Purdue University


The Central Indiana ASSP Chapter congratulates these Hoosier employers on their recent accomplishments.

Education and Outreach Award – Gaylor Electric, Noblesville, IN

Partnership Award – Lippert Plant 50, Goshen, IN

Innovations Award – GE Aerospace Lafayette Engine Facility, Lafayette, IN

Rising Star Award – Korellis Roofing Inc., Hammond, IN

Rising Star Award – Oneal Manufacturing Services, Indianapolis, IN

For more information on the Governor’s Workplace Safety Award, visit DOL: GWSA Home (

The Chapter also congratulates the 2023 Everyday Safety Hero Award recipients.

  • Jennifer Gurtner, Channel Technician, Cardinal Glass, Fremont, IN
  • John Sanders, Group Leader, Subaru of Indiana Automotive Inc, Lafayette , IN
  • Brandy Marsh, EHS Leader GE Aerospace Lafayette Engine Facility, Lafayette, IN
  • Mary Schrock, Laboratory Technician, CountryMark Refining, Mt. Vernon, IN
  • Larry Guitierrez, Site Manager/HSE Committee Chair with The Skillman Corporation, Merrillville, IN
  • Josh Beckedahl, Machine Team Lead with Major Tool & Machine, Indianapolis, IN

NEWS RELEASE: Hoosier Companies, Individuals Honored for Workplace Safety, Health

2023 Chapter Safety Professional of the Year

Kristi VanSoest was awarded the Central Indiana ASSP Safety Professional of the Year Award.  This award is presented to a Central Indiana ASSP member who demonstrates outstanding achievement in the occupational safety and health field while also advancing the occupational safety and health profession overall.