IU Section

Use the Contact Us page to email the chapter leadership team.

  • President
    Angela Gomez

  • Vice President
    Ashley Woods

  • Secretary
    Simona Terek

  • Treasurer
    Keilyn Mendez
  • Faculty Advisor
    Kevin Slates, Ed.D, MPA, BS, CSP

Section News

ASSP Foundation Scholarships

Since 1990, the ASSP Foundation has awarded more than $6 million in academic scholarships and professional education grants to occupational safety and health students and professionals working towards their educational goals.

For the 2022-2023 program year, the ASSP Foundation awarded $306,000 in academic scholarships for 107 graduate and undergraduate students preparing for or supplementing their occupational safety and health careers at more than 50 different colleges and universities.

The Central Indiana Chapter is proud to announce the following Chapter members as recipients of the ASSP Foundation Scholarship, funded by ASSP Central Indiana Chapter, in memory of Jim Kriner.

Hannah Dobler – Scholarship Amount $3,000
Indiana University Bloomington
Bachelor’s Degree Program: Occupational Safety

Emmanuel Alvarez – Scholarship Amount $2,000
Indiana University Bloomington
Bachelor’s Degree Program: Environmental Health and Safety

Future Leaders Golf Outing Scholarship Recipients

Proceeds from the 2023 Future Leaders Golf Outing provided four $2,000 scholarships to Central Indiana Chapter Student Members. Several of the recipients attended the 2024 Indiana Safety Conference and were awarded the scholarships at the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards luncheon. Congratulations to our recipients!

Andrew Brownfield – Indiana State University

Christian Bourbai – Indiana State University

Joseph Minton – Indiana State University

Caul Barszczak – Purdue University

IU Section Meeting

Central Indiana Chapter President Greg Anderson speaks at the October student section meeting.