2024 Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards and Everyday Day Heros

The Indiana Department of Labor and Central Indiana ASSP announced the winners of the 2024 Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards during the Indiana Safety Conference on February 28, 2024. The awards “provide recognition for companies based on best practices for eliminating workplace injuries and illnesses, and salute employers who have made safety and health a top priority.”

The Indiana companies were awarded in four categories:

  • Education and Outreach: Kimball International (Jasper, IN)
  • Partnerships: ZF Active Safety and Electronics US LLC (Lafayette, IN)
  • Innovations: Masterbrand Cabinets LLC, Ferdinand Operations (Ferdinand, IN)
  • Rising Star: GE Aerospace Lafayette Engine Facility (Lafayette, IN)

At the awards luncheon, seven individuals were honored and received the “Everyday Safety Hero Award,” which recognizes Hoosiers who “have championed workplace safety and health excellence” in their workplaces. The Heros were nominated by their peers or employers.

  • Jesse Neese, Yardmaster, Grain Processing Corp. (Washington)
  • James Farley, Electrical and Instruments Technician, Grain Processing Corp. (Washington)
  • Jenny Waller, Bender Operator, Cardinal IG, (Fremont)
  • Andy Burnett, Airport Operations Center Communications Manager, Indianapolis Airport Authority (Indianapolis)
  • Tyler Conrad, Metal Production Associate, Viewrail – Plant 6 (Goshen)
  • Professor Kendra Erk, Professor of Materials Engineering, Purdue University, (West Lafayette)
  • Shane Hasebly, Building Senior Manager, Purdue University (West Lafayette)

For more information visit GWSA Awards.

Future Leaders Golf Outing Scholarship Recipients

Proceeds from the 2023 Future Leaders Golf Outing provided four $2,000 scholarships to Central Indiana Chapter Student Members. Several of the recipients attended the 2024 Indiana Safety Conference and were awarded the scholarships at the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards luncheon. Congratulations to our recipients!

Andrew Brownfield – Indiana State University

Christian Bourbai – Indiana State University

Joseph Minton – Indiana State University

Caul Barszczak – Purdue University

Fire Safety Month Coloring Contest

Thank you to the children of several of our Chapter members for submitting your coloring sheet for Fire Safety Month. Participants will receive a gift card from the Chapter.

For our next contest, send a picture of yourself, family or co-workers participating in a fire safety/prevention activity. The winner will receive a $50 gift card.

All entries must be submitted by November 1 to asspceu@gmail.com. Only one entry per ASSP member, the winner will be announced in the November newsletter.