2019-2021 Elections of Chapter Officers

The 2019-2021 elections of Chapter officers will occur during the month of May.

Central Indiana Chapter officers serve two year terms, beginning July 1.  The board positions open for election this cycle are:  Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.  The candidates and bios for these positions are shown below.  ASSP will distribute an e-ballot in May.

Vice President Candidates

Mark C. Frye, CSP, CHMM

Mark is a Past President of the Southwest Ohio ASSP Chapter.  During his my tenure with the Chapter, he served as Secretary, Treasurer and Vice President.  In 2013, Mark was selected as the Safety Professional of the Year by the Southwest Ohio Chapter and Region VII of ASSP.

Mark states, “I have been committed to ASSP’s mission since 2007 and as a Chapter officer, my mission has always been to provide service to you, the Chapter Member.  I would like to be your Vice-President.  I believe my experience and expertise can be help continue the successes of this great chapter.”

Mark is currently the EHS Engineer for 3M at Indianapolis.  He is a 1989 graduate of Hanover College, where he majored in Chemistry.  He began his career as an EHS Professional for the Aurora Casket Company in 1998, and prior to 3M in 2015 he worked for the global chemical company Celanese in Florence, KY for 4 years.

Karl Weisser, CSP, CHST

Karl is a graduate of Indiana University with a B.S. in Applied Health Science and currently works as a Risk Management consultant for Eastern Alliance Insurance Group. Karl has over 5 years’ experience in the Safety/Risk Management industry and currently serves as a consultant for clients in various industries including automotive, manufacturing, foundries, and healthcare. Previously, Karl worked as a Safety Consultant for Safety Resources, Inc. and served as a Contract Safety Director for a number of construction and general industry clients in Indiana and Southern Michigan.

Karl is active with the Central Indiana Chapter having served as the Social Media Chair and Young Professional Liaison since 2015.  Karl was recently the speaker for a nationwide audio conference/webinar, covering “Including Rescue in Your Fall Protection Plan:  A Best Practice in Construction” and “HazCom Global Harmonization Standard Update” for the Bureau of Labor Relations.  Karl currently holds the Certified Safety Professional, Construction Safety & Health Technician certifications and is working towards an Associate in Risk Management (ARM) designation.

Karl states, “as a member of the Central Indiana ASSP chapter, I understand the importance of bringing safety professionals together to create a safer future.  I am dedicated to continue providing educational resources to help advance the safety profession and award scholarship funds future safety professionals in Indiana.”

Secretary Candidate

Ginger Dayton, CSP

Ginger is a Certified Safety Professional who brings with her 30 years of experience building partnerships throughout organizations (warehouse, production, offices, field, and labs) resulting in high levels of customer service and strong employee relations.  Ginger is a graduate of Indiana State University, BA in Environmental Health and MS Community Health and Safety Management.  Over 20 years of her experience was with Roche Diagnostics, a global leader in healthcare.  Prior to Roche, Ginger was a Safety Consultant with Bristol-Myers Squibb and Mead Johnson.  Ginger joined the ATI Worksite Solutions Team in 2016 where she currently serves as Director of Health and Safety and will take over as Corporate Safety Director.  She is responsible for the oversight and management of all health and safety services provided by AWS staff.  Hazard identification, personal protective equipment, incident analysis and prevention, program development and implementation, and training are among her areas of expertise.

Treasurer Candidate

Vince Plank, CSP

Vince has been involved with the Central Indiana Chapter since 2000 as a student member at Indiana State University.  After receiving a BS in Safety Management at ISU, Vince worked at two automotive suppliers in central Indiana.  In 2009 he was appointed to the Chapter Board as Secretary.  From July 2011 to November 2012 he served as the Chapter President-Elect then as Chapter President from November 2012 to June 2015.  Since 2015 Plank served his role as Past President then was appointed to Membership Chair and Foundation Chair in 2017.  He is currently a Safety Advisor with Safety Management Group where he works with General Industry and Construction accounts.

Vince states, “I look forward to working with the Central Indiana Chapter in a new role.  I’ve worked alongside the Chapter’s outgoing Treasurer Gary Gokey since 2009 and while he’s leaving big shoes to fill, I’m confident that I can continue to assist the Chapter in this role.”